Inobitec DICOM Viewer

Chapter 11. Lung Damage Assessment with the Help of Artificial Intelligence

Attention! This functionality is not available under the standard Pro license and must be purchased separately. Functionality is available only in the 64-bit build of the program.

The purpose of the module described in this chapter is to give the users (medical staff) an opportunity to obtain diagnostic information concerning lung damage resulting from COVID-19 from independent external sources with the help of artificial intelligence. The work of the AI is based on neural networks and with a high degree of probability detects abnormalities helping the doctor to establish a correct diagnosis. The studies are carried out on the basis of anonymized data. Automated analysis provides an opportunity to save the time required for establishing a diagnosis and assessing the lung damage.

The results of the assessment of lung parenchyma damage (on the whole, as well as for the right/left lung or each lobe of the lung separately) are presented as % of the corresponding lung volume (on the whole, as well as for the right/left lung or each lobe of the lung separately).

Attention! By contrast with the method of assessment on the scale of lung parenchyma involvement in pathological processes, which is convenient for visual assessment, we do not calculate the score, which is then converted into %. It must be taken into account by the specialists interpreting the results, as when you use a scoring system, the resulting figures are normally greater than when you calculate the damage directly.

PIC The lung damage assessment carried out with the help of artificial intelligence does not constitute a diagnosis and must be confirmed by a specialist.

As a result of the assessment, you will get:

  • a report in the form of a PDF document;

  • an image depicting the abnormalities marked by different colors.

Инобитек DICOM-Просмотрщик

Глава 11. Оценка поражения лёгких с использованием искусственного интеллекта

Внимание! Данная функциональность не входит в стандартную лицензию Pro и приобретается отдельно. Функциональность доступна только в 64-разрядной сборке программы.

Описанный в данной главе модуль предназначен для предоставление пользователю (врачу) диагностической информации от внешних независимых источников о степени поражения лёгких от COVID-19 с использованием искусственного интеллекта. Искусственный интеллект работает на основе нейронных сетей и с высокой долей вероятности определяет патологии, помогая врачу установить точный диагноз. Исследования проводятся на анонимизированных данных. Автоматизированный анализ значительно сокращает время диагностирования и оценки степени поражения лёгочной ткани.

Все оценки поражения паренхимы лёгких в целом, левой и правой частей и долей лёгких рассчитываются непосредственно в процентах от соответствующего объёма (лёгких в целом, левой и правой частей или соответствующей доли).

Внимание! В отличии методики оценки по шкале вовлечения паренхимы легких в патологический процесс, удобной для визуальной оценки, расчет в баллах с последующим переводом в проценты не используется. Это необходимо учитывать специалистам при интерпретации результатов, так как при использовании балльной системы получаемые значения как правило больше, чем при непосредственном расчете.

PIC Оценка поражения искусственным интеллектом не является диагнозом и требует интерпретации специалиcтом.

В результате анализа предоставляется:

  • заключение в виде pdf-документа;
  • визуализация выявленных патологий разными цветами.